Review: Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Cashmere

Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Cashmere

So I picked this up in Guardian one day because I really wanted to try out more liquid lipsticks. I have tried a couple other liquid lipsticks and I love the pigment that they give. I’ve never tried anything else from Palladio so this was my first venture into the brand. How does this product fare? Here are my thoughts:

The Good

Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Cashmere

Let’s start with price and packaging. This liquid lipstick cost $8.90, which is really cheap for a liquid lipstick, cheaper than my innisfree one (link here) or even Australis ones. It comes in this acrylic plastic tube with a matte black cap, which looks rather chic, in my opinion.

Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Cashmere
Swatch under sunlight. No filter. It’s a coral colour.

The colour Cashmere is a true coral, with the right amounts of pink and orange. It’s a bright, bold colour for those days that you just wanna have more fun with your make-up. With this colour, I found that depending on how much you have on, the colour changes slightly. With a heavier application, it appears more orange, and the orange fades when you blot your lips. That was a bonus because I could enjoy two different shades with just one product.

The Bad

Let me just be honest and immediately come out and say that this formulation is a nightmare to work with. It’s creamy and doesn’t dry my lips at all, it amazingly pigmented, but it DOESN’T DRY DOWN and it shifts around so so much. With a product this pigmented, the moment it shifts, it is super obvious.

It came to a point my friend looked at me with much amusement and said that I looked as if I had just had a make-out session (and I had only been drinking water!!!)

I’ve tried putting on only the bare minimum on my lips and even then it still shifts!!!

Conclusion

It’s cheap, but there’s a reason why it’s so cheap – it just doesn’t stay put on your lips. Give this product a big skip.

Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Cashmere
Bare lips
Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Cashmere
With the lip colour
Palladio Velvet Matte Cream Lip Colour in Cashmere
Here’s the lip colour after I’ve blotted my lips. I find that after blotting, the colour appears pinker.
Leave a Reply

