Review: Kiss Me Heroine Make Long & Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black

Kiss Me Heroine Make Long & Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black

Kiss Me Heroine has been around for the longest time. Back in the day when Sasa was about the only place where you could buy Japanese make-up, (those were dark, dark days XD) Kiss Me Heroine was already around. This brand has always been known for its mascara, so when they came up with a new, semi-waterproof formula, I had to try it. How does this product fare? Here are my thoughts:

The Good

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Let’s start with the price. Now this cost me $21.90 at Watsons, which is not the cheapest (you can get mascaras under $20 from innisfree and Etude House), but  definitely cheaper than what Maybelline and Revlon have to offer.

This formulation gives long, fluttery lashes, but nothing dramatic in the volume department. So lemme try and explain what I do to get that effect: Whenever I use mascara, I always wipe off the excess mascara with a piece of tissue before applying it to my lashes. And when I say wipe off the excess, I mean using a little bit of strength to wipe the entire mascara wand head with my tissue. (That also means that QUITE a bit of product ends up on the tissue, but I don’t consider it wasting, because if I didn’t do that, I wouldn’t quite get the effect I want with the mascara, I think) But when I apply my mascara with this method, I get ZERO CLUMPS.

I get a curl that lasts all-day with this mascara, without the need for an eyelash curler, even. It’s incredible. The staying power of this mascara is also really good. It smudges a little on my lower lash line if I were to wear it for the whole day, but I have really oily skin, and this mascara is already one of the better performing ones in terms of longevity.

Kiss Me Heroine Make Long & Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black
You can see that the wand has a slight curve to it
Kiss Me Heroine Make Long & Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black
The wand

I like the shape of the wand. It’s a normal sized wand with bristles (I don’t quite like the comb type ones). The curve to the wand helps to create a really nice curl in my lashes.

The Bad

Kiss Me Heroine Make Long & Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black

So when I first bought this product, I was fooled by the “Easy Removal” description on the front of the packaging (scroll up to see the packaging again). I thought that meant that this product could be removed with warm water (which usually means that it can also be removed with micellar water, which is what I use). It can’t. Lemme repeat. It can’t. 

So imagine my disappointment when this mascara didn’t come off easily with my trusty micellar water. >.<

As it would turn out (when I read the back of the packaging properly) you need warm water PLUS facial cleanser to get this off. If not, normal eye make-up remover works too. So it’s semi-waterproof. Does that make sense? Unfortunately, my sink doesn’t give me warm water, so I just go for the eye make-up remover method. But for those who take warm showers at the end of the day, perhaps you would might benefit from the warm water + facial cleanser method.

Conclusion

I really like this mascara! So much so that I am willing to use eye make-up remover to remove this (and I usually am waaaayyyyy too lazy to bother with eye make-up remover). The curl lasts all day, I get long fluttery lashes and it has pretty darn good staying power. What more can a girl want in a mascara? Oh, easier removal. But hey, I’ll settle with this one for now 🙂

Kiss Me Heroine Make Long &amp; Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black
Without mascara
Kiss Me Heroine Make Long &amp; Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black
Without mascara
Kiss Me Heroine Make Long &amp; Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black
With mascara. You can see my lashes now~~~
Kiss Me Heroine Make Long &amp; Curl Mascara Advanced Film in 01 Black
Lashes are slightly more defined and curled than before, but nothing dramatic volume-wise
Leave a Reply

